Testimonial Star Rating - 7255673
by Mike B. - 4/3/2020
My wife and I reside in Urbana Champaign and have purchased numerous pairs of glasses from Specs Around Town in Bloomington for a decade plus. I am hard on glasses and we both like innovative and comfortable styles. The combination of durability, quality craftsmanship, cutting edge style and of course knowledgeable customer care fits our broad needs and preferences in eyewear to a tee. Thank you Specs Around Town! We love you guys.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276066
by Saleema Dandridge - 3/26/2020
I love the uniqueness of our selection! I’m so addicted to Specs!!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 5750191
by Duane Zehr - 2/15/2020
Just got my two new pairs of glasses from Specs Around Town, and they’re perfect as always. Great, friendly and knowledgeable customer service from Julie, Saleema and Lisa. You won’t find a better selection or better staff anywhere.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 4505044
by Melinda Zehr - 2/8/2020
My husband and I have been customers for many years. I’ve lost track of how many pairs of glasses I’ve gotten from Specs, but I’m sure it’s more than a dozen. We go back for the quality, selection, and fit. Plus, Julie and her staff are the best! They have frames no one else has, from fun and funky to sophisticated and serious.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 4504254
by Melinda Z. - 2/8/2020
Just got my latest glasses from Specs, and they're just as fabulous as the dozen or so pairs I've gotten in the past! I get so many compliments on my Specs glasses. Plus, the service and fit is unmatched. Julie and her staff are awesome.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 3123772
by Carol Kitchen - 2/1/2020
Had service from Julie and her team at Specs Around Town. Got a pair of glasses adjusted and a new pair of cool red glasses. Julie ‘s team connected with my eye doc (out of the country no less) to get my script and order my glasses. Lots of compliments !! Thanks Specs!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1730605
by Andrea Bjorkman - 1/22/2020
Once again, Julie and her staff did a fabulous job helping my husband and I pick out some fabulous glasses! They have an amazing selection and always make the experience fun. We highly recommend them!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1631342
by Candy O. - 1/10/2020
I tried Specs Around Town because I was looking for unique frames but the real value I got was in the quality of the lenses. I've struggled with computer work and close work with progressive lenses for several years and no one could ever offer me a good solution but the lenses I got in my glasses from Specs Around Town have solved my problems!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1708455
by Dave Schultz - 1/6/2020
Specs not only has the best specs around town, they’ve got the best for miles around! And the best, most personal service, too. Now going on six years and three pairs of awesome glasses, I can guarantee they are worth the drive!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1708456
by David Hirst - 12/21/2019
What a great experience! New glasses that make a difference how I see and how I look! Julie and Saleema make the experience fun and light hearted. Check it out, you won’t be disappointed.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1451159
by David H. - 12/20/2019
Such a great experience working with Julie and Saleema. The selection is wide and the attention to details is great. You will get great help finding frames that make you see and look your best! The speed of delivery was fast too. I am so glad I took the trip downtown!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
by Chad Sabin - 11/15/2019
Amazing choice of glasses and excellent customer service. Worth your time if you’re passing by.
Go to Testimonial on Foursquare
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276067
by Barbara McDonald - 9/12/2019
They are simply AMAZING. Go there- generate your own epic experience.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276068
by Jules Miller - 7/24/2019
Julie has the best selection of unique eyewear in the Midwest. She runs a beautiful shop!!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288705
by Miriam Poppe - 7/22/2019
Amazing selection of Maui Jim Sunglasses and the staff is tops and an awesome vibe!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276069
by Trish Kircher Tilton - 7/11/2019
Fabulous unique selection and super helpful, knowedgable, fun staff. Love this place.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276070
by Catharine Crockett - 2/5/2019
Service, frame selection, people!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288708
by Jeremy Hardman - 11/19/2018
Julie and her staff are great to work with. Great place to check out in downtown Bloomington!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288706
by Adam Simpson - 11/19/2018
Stopped by and talked to Stephanie about a costly pair of sunglasses and she answered all my questions, made me feel good with spending Maui Jim money on sunglasses. Very happy with the service and product I received from these guys. Great local, small business and price was the same as every other place.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276071
by Diane Winters - 8/12/2018
Great, friendly & knowledgeable staff! I purchased my prescription sunglasses several months ago and was recently careless with them. The lenses & frame got scratched. Julie said to drop them off and she would send them in to see what could be done. To my surprise, I now have a brand new pair (in less than 2 weeks!) and the lenses were replaced at no charge, even though it was my fault they got scratched!!! Love the customer service here & highly recommend them. SO many unique & stylish frames, too!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276072
by Tom Tischhauser - 6/19/2018
Very friendly and experienced staff with great products and 5 star service, so I give them all 5 stars for each category.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288669
by Jackson H. - 6/13/2018
I used to travel to New York regularly to buy unique frames that I couldn't find anywhere in the Midwest. NO MORE! This little shop, located in a historic building, is the best eyeglasses store in Central Illinois. It may well be the best in the entire state! The owner and staff are gracious and always willing to assist with suggestions. The store is full of European brands that are not usually found outside of large US cities. The owner truly cultivates collections in a way all glasses aficionados would approve. A variety of price ranges are on display and lens prices are comparable to those in other boutique Midwest stores. If you want unique, fun, fashionable glasses that will turn heads - THIS is the place for you.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276074
by Joseph M. Borsberry - 1/27/2018
Great experience! Very helpful and knowledgeable staff! Fantastic products. Top notch. This is a boutique, not a discount store. A great experience!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288710
by Katharine Ballard - 11/19/2017
The staff is incredibly friendly as well as being super helpful. They're not high pressure in any way, it's almost as if you're trying on glasses with a friend.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276076
by Vicki Lynn Tilton - 5/14/2017
Always five star merchandise and five star service!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276078
by Sally Dahl Payne - 12/30/2016
My first time in the shop today! Loved it!!!! So many fun frames and great service! I can't wait to get my new glasses!!!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276080
by Lisa Wallace - 12/17/2016
Best place to find one of a kind glasses! Their customer service is out of this world. From the moment I walk in the door I know they want nothing but to find me the perfect glasses!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288670
by Craig S. - 12/2/2016
The most friendly staff you will ever meet! An insane selection of all types of glasses and such a beautiful shop right in downtown! Can't go wrong with this place!!!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288707
by Shann Anderson Elble - 11/19/2016
I have to agree with all the great reviews for Specs Around Town! I have quite literally never gotten so many compliments from so many people on my glasses. They offer more variety in color, shape, and style than I've seen anywhere else - with the ability to add customization to fit your specific personality. The hardest part is deciding between so many perfect choices. The staff is amazing and lovely, fun to work with super helpful! Need an adjustment? No problem! Specs Around Town has a strong reputation, and it is well-deserved. They have my loyalty as a customer. I couldn't be more pleased.
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288711
by Greta Schapmire - 11/19/2016
I won't go anywhere else! Once you have true quality, you understand the value of spending more for outstanding service and products. #franciskleinforlife
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288712
by Emily Fearman - 11/19/2016
Specs Around Town should definitely be on everyone's destination list. Not only does Specs have an awesome staff they also have unique fun eyewear! Everyone is so knowledge about the lenses and frame collections. It is so unique and fun to know the background of the collection of specs you are wearing. I highly recommend making a trip to Specs Around Town and letting them staff do their thing; by pulling frames, sitting down and trying on with you. All while having fun doing it! It is not the same old thing like at the eye doctor's office. At Specs they like to have fun and learn a little something about each client. You are definitely NOT a number at Specs, you are a valued client. They are excellent at follow up's; whether that be different colors in a certain frame you like or if something comes in they think you'd like, or just to call and see how you are doing in your new specs! They have top notch customer service. People and other business owners should take a look at how well Specs does things! They are also very actively involved in the local community which is a huge bonus in my book! Support local!!
Go to Testimonial on Google
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276082
by Saleema Dandridge - 8/5/2016
This is the absolute best place to work ever! We have the most uniquely beautiful frames anywhere!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276083
by Katie Latta - 6/7/2016
Great selection and knowledgeable staff! Really unique eyewear!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288690
by Eric R. - 5/14/2016
Great service! Truly appreciate the insightfulness of the staff in selecting my new "Spec's".
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276084
by Richard Berliner - 5/9/2016
Best selection in Illinois. And Lenny, the shop dog, is the sweetest
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276085
by Stephanee Jordan - 4/9/2016
I love this store and drive more than three hours to shop for glasses. The selection is as good as any shop in Chicago or New York and the staff is fantastic.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288671
by John C. - 4/2/2016
LOVE this place!! Seriously there is no place like it anywhere. An amazing selection of the finest Eyewear from around the world and the staff is so helpful and friendly.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276087
by Kati Sheppelman Kleiboeker - 3/7/2016
My 9 year old son was less than thrilled to get glasses. We looked at a few places in town and were less than thrilled with the customer service and selection. At Specs the staff was wonderful to my son (and us). Julie showed him some glasses that he could customize to the colors of his liking. He was able to pick out colors to match his favorite sports team and left with a smile on his face. The staff is exceptional! Thanks for the wonderful service and glasses that look great on him!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288691
by Ellen H. - 2/22/2016
I am not even a customer of Specs Around Town and I received the best customer service from them! I was having a heck of time getting the correct adjustment to my glasses. I visited my doctor's office on several occasions and they were not able to get the fit right. I called Specs Around Town to ask if they could give me a second opinion about my glasses since my doctor's office told me the fit was fine...they still didn't feel right on my face. Mary called me back within a day and left me the most welcoming voicemail and asked that I come in so she could check out the glasses. I went in that same day and she immediately stated that the glasses were too loose and she would be happy to do an adjustment. The glasses now fit great and she sat and talked with me about what I need to look for in future glasses to ensure the fit is a good one for my face. I am not a current customer but I will be the next time I need glasses! She was so helpful and did not even charge me for the adjustment. I will definitely be going to Specs Around Town in the future versus picking glasses out at my doctor's office. Thanks again, Mary!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288681
by Debbie J. - 2/8/2016
I have the cutiest glasses in Blo/No thanks to Specs Around Town! Great friendly and very helpful staff.I love this place and their frames are phenomenal
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288672
by Cindy D. - 2/3/2016
I absolutely love the customer service, high quality frames. The staff makes you feel right at home. I get so many compliments on my Wissing frames.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276090
by Karen Alexander - 4/19/2015
Love this place and the gal that owns it! Be sure to stop in.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276091
by Shelley Williams - 1/6/2015
FANTASTIC! Wouldn't go anyplace else. An entire store full of fashionable, fun and unique eyewear. AND......Top Notch Customer service!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288765
by Judith Mathieson - 11/14/2014
I've been going to Specs for years & have found many fabulous frames. I currently have 5 pairs. "I love your glasses" is a phrase I hear every day. I...
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276093
by Michael Brunk - 8/22/2014
I can see the forest for the trees! Life's so colorful! Looking forward to another new pair of glasses and seeing you all yet again.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276095
by Allison Beehner - 3/23/2014
Thanks so much for helping my mom pick some awesome glasses yesterday!! She is going to look so stylish in them! ;)
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 1290486
by s.elble - 1/14/2014
We are so lucky to have Specs Around Town in Bloomington/Normal! They carry so many designer lines of eye wear - that you might not normally see in "small town" America. Julie and her staff are very knowledgeable and I can rely on them to help me pick out a style that is both flattering and fun. They also carry a great selection of fabulous sunglasses, readers, and accessories. During Farmers Market season they run a sunglasses special - 20% off on Saturdays!
Go to Testimonial on Superpages
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288769
by K.C. Cordell - 7/22/2013
Always friendly personal service. Always the best selection of glasses that you can't find anywhere else in Central Illinois. I'm a customer for life.
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
Testimonial Star Rating - 7276054
by Kara Kirk Story - 7/11/2013
I had the best time picking out new, cool glasses!! Thank you for spending time with me-excellent customer service and selection. I finally have a super cool pair of specs that I WANT to wear. I will be the coolest librarian in town (and my kids say I look smart). LOVE!! If you need new glasses you need to get yourself Downtown Bloomington!!
Go to Testimonial on Facebook
by Mike N - 6/22/2013
Great selection of specs, and first class customer service.
Go to Testimonial on Foursquare
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288668
by Ruby P. - 10/19/2012
I love this place and the people who work here. Before I tried Specs I got my glasses from other places in town, but each visit seemed like a clinic appointment rather than a shopping experience. Specs Around Town is a lively, colorful and FUN place. The frames are not just frames...they are wearable art. The frames are expensive, but keep an eye out for specials (and Yelp Check-In offers). You get what you pay for: quality and good service! They also carry fun jewelry and watches. Everyone is wonderful and dedicated to great service without being pushy. Kudos to everyone for making this a fun and highly successful locally owned business!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288684
by Rajesh G. - 6/9/2012
I can't say enought good things about Specs Around Town. We had exceptional service with zero compromises. Selection and prices were as good or better than other retailers. But you go to independently owned stores for the personal service. They helped my wife and I find sunglasses that flattered us with zero pressure or upsell. I would have happily paid a premium for the service that I received. The great thing is that we paid LESS than we would have at other stores. Highly recommend. We will be back.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288685
by Loren R. - 1/19/2012
I bought a spare pair of frames and they arrived this week. I normally get the Crizal anti-reflective lenses. They had an upgraded version from Crizal called ,"Sapphire," anti-reflective. It was a modest up charge and was a noticeable improvement in clarity. The closest to optical grade glass, while being polycarbonate and non-reflective.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288689
by Craig L. - 12/7/2011
This is a great place to find glasses and sunglasses. They offer a variety of price ranges and styles from standard to trendy. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. They do not perform eye exams here, but you can have your optometrist simply fax over your lens prescription, and they will get the lenses you want to go with the frames you choose. This is a top notch eyewear store.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
by Lisa Clark - 12/2/2011
Great window!!!!!
Go to Testimonial on Foursquare
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288686
by Loren R. - 8/26/2011
I had to start wearing glasses around the age of 44. Now, at 51 I needed to wear glasses full time and not simply for reading and computer work. Since I was looking for more serious eyewear, I did some research and went to Specs Around Town. I stopped in needing prescription sunglasses and eyeglasses. I ended up with IC! Berlin sunglasses and 2.5 Eyephorics eyeglasses. They were excellent about describing the glasses, pros and cons in each design, some advice on what worked well stylistically and allowed me to take the time to come to the conclusions that worked best for me. They also had an excellent understanding of my prescription and how the lenses should be constructed to work best for my vision. Also, they listened to and implemented my requests for the sunglass lens optics. This experience, combined with an excellent product line, has ruined me for shopping anywhere else. Lastly, while they have a reputation for carrying more expensive eyewear, they also have more pragmatically priced frames. My way of saying that I would not let price keep me from walking in the door, as long as you are sensible and realistic that you are investing in eyewear, not just buying glasses.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288683
by Colin F. - 7/14/2011
Julie and Katie are the best! I used to be kind of a plain homely guy until I let them accessorize my face! They have the most diverse selection of frames I have ever seen. European designers I have never heard of are embraced here. Everything is unique and stylish. I have never received more compliments on anything than I have for the multiple pairs of glasses I have gotten from Specs. Specs offers amazing service. I live in St. Louis and they have made sure each pair of glasses have gotten to me without and incidents. They even put up with my odd fitting requests for my glasses, not resting until I was happy. Can't wait for my next pair!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288682
by Van M. - 6/7/2011
First of all, Specs Around Town deserves some recognition for being one of the only (perhaps the only) establishment in Bloomington making use of Check-In offers on the Yelp application. The first time I set foot in the store, I pulled out my phone, checked-in and was offered "1 free small eyeglass cleaner" (a $2 value!). As someone who has been Yelping in Bloomington since 2007, I have to say, that warmed my heart. I apologize for the immediate tangent there. Back on track. I first heard of Specs Around Town from some co-workers. Not just any co-workers, these are co-workers with keen fashion sense. I'm one of those people who wears my contacts with such regularity that people don't know that I need vision correction. I sleep in my contacts. But I was ready for a change. My wife and I decided that 2011 was going to be the year that we both updated our glasses from 1997. We stopped by some eye-wear stores to see what they had and wondered why none of them had any options that would make us want to actually wear glasses. Turns out, Specs Around Town as them all. When we finally stopped by, we were greeted by some nice sales associates. As other reviewers have pointed out, the service at Specs will beat any other store, no question. They'll ask you what you're looking for and, if you don't know and look overwhelmed (like we did), they'll let you sit down and relax while they hand-pick some options they think will work for you. Some options were brought to us and we tried them on. My favorite part was that when I put on one pair, the person we were working with (can't remember her name - wasn't Julie or Katie, though we worked with them both later and found them to be very helpful) immediately said, "No, that won't work. Those don't fit your face." I could tell that I was dealing with a straight-shooter, which is what you want if you're going to invest $400 - 500 into a pair of glasses. My wife had been looking for new frames off and on for the past three years and she picked out a pair within 10 minutes of setting foot into Specs Around Town. I was a bit more indecisive. I couldn't decide if it was really worth the money to buy a pair at Specs or if I could save a couple hundred dollars and find a pair that worked just as well at another store. I looked around at some other stores a bit more and was underwhelmed by my options. Each time I returned to Specs, they were helpful and encouraging. They will let you take home a pair of frames for a day or two so that you can get used to them if you need. I did this twice and finally decided on a pair. While my glasses cost more than I had planned to pay initially, I feel confident that it was worth it. Not only do I like the frames, I also like supporting a local business that has great service and stands by the quality of their product.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
by Billy - 5/18/2011
Check out the great SALT frames. Got some new ones and love them!
Go to Testimonial on Foursquare
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288692
by Vicki T. - 7/2/2010
My name is Vicki and I am a sunglass addict!! no shame in it! we all have our vices. This is my dealer, my fix! As I write this, I am on vacation and have my LA Eyewear with me as well as two other pair I have purchased here! For the latest in all eyewear, phenomenal service and fun accessories, Specs is it! They can service what they sell too; when my frames are slipping a bit or like the time my ICI Berlins went flying across the parking lot and severely scratched the lenses, Julie has always rescued me and got it right for me. Why would anyone shop anywhere else for eyewear???
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288693
by Jim G. - 7/2/2010
I purchased some prescription sunglasses from Specs a few months ago and I have just finished six weeks of my great nephews' baseball games and they were the greatest ones I have ever worn. They sort of wrap around and I didn't need to turn my head or adjust my hat due to the sun "getting in from the sides" and I didn't have to squint at all. Even after six straight hours of sitting in the sun my eyes and face were very rested and I wasn't "sun-tired" like I used to be at the end of the day. It didn't even feel as though I was wearing them. They are so comfortable and don't slide down my big nose even when I sweat. If you want GREAT glasses don't miss Specs.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288695
by Tom K. - 4/15/2010
After having the same pair of Oakley frames for two years, which I really liked I was ready for a new pair. Being a designer, I was looking for something different than I was seeing in the usual chain shops, wanted something a little more industrial looking. After asking around I was referred to Specs, so by following them on Twitter I was able to pick a time when they were having sales to go in and treat myself to a more high-end pair at a reasonable price. When I first walked in I was a little taken back w/glasses all over, Julie popped over, gave me an overview on how the frames were separated and told me to take a look around and holla if I had any questions. Not pushy at all and didn't follow me or anything, and that I liked. So after selecting 4-6 I liked we narrowed it down to two pair and Julie and Katie gave me their honest opinions and I got the pair I wanted. The service was polite and comfortable which is very important to me. Then Emily was the person who helped fit and introduced me to my new glasses and cleaning goods, she was very informative and on the ball, I was in a hurry so she hooked me up and I was on my way... About a couple days after getting my glasses they followed up w/me on Twitter to make sure I was enjoying my new glasses and then a week or so after that I also got a hand written postcard in mail. So I guess at Specs you get a high-end designer product and that personal touch that makes me thing my money is getting me that extra touch of service... I recommend and will be back...Thanks - tk
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288694
by Jim G. - 4/9/2010
I am a relatively new customer of Specs. I like a lot of people thought the prices weren't for me but after having made the first step I have found the quality of not only their frames but their lenses is excellent. In fact I bought a pair of prescription sunglasses from them and that was one of the best decisions I have made in a long time, they are great. Their customer service is excellent. They do a very good job of taking care of their new as well as established customers and if they are working with one customer they will pleasantly greet a new visitor but continue with the existing one. If you want glasses that will get you noticed and the highest quality visit Julie, Katie and Emily at Specs. The pricing is comparable when you compare "apples to apples."
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
by Vicki Tilton - 3/16/2010
Hey! I am a sunglass adict!! What can I say?? I get my best fix at Specs Around Town!!
Go to Testimonial on Foursquare
by Michael Morrow - 2/24/2010
Love my new Mykitas! Read more
Go to Testimonial on Foursquare
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288697
by AMANDA M. - 2/20/2010
Best place to buy glasses, hands down! Great service too!!
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288688
by Jamie M. - 12/23/2009
Specs is great! I have a pair of their glasses sitting on my nose right now. Julie and crew are always super friendly, the selection for someone who has a giant cranium like me was very good, and the store is cool.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288698
by Amy C. - 11/10/2009
Simply THE BEST selection of exciting frames in town and so much more! Great service to boot.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288699
by Cresent M. - 10/1/2009
Expect wonderful service, trendy glasses, and rather high prices. I love this locally owned business. I won't go anywhere else.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288700
by Vickie S. - 6/25/2009
Specs has it all.... great frames to choose from, beautiful place of business but best of all a very friendly staff that always makes you feel like you are part of the family
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288701
by Pete P. - 6/3/2009
Julie and her crew of fashionistas have been outfitting my family with trendy and unique eyeware since she opened for business out of her original blue VW Beetle back in the late 90's. I personally have a sunglass fetish, which requires quarterly trips to Specs Around Town. If you are looking for unique eyeware that will set you apart from the crowd, this should be your only stop in Central Illinois between Chicago and St. Louis. Make sure and bring a treat for Lenny, the shop watch dog.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288702
by Jim G. - 6/2/2009
My wife and I have recently started getting our glasses at Specs Around Town and couldn't be happier. Their selection is great and the service is special. Julie and her staff are the best
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288703
by Cresent M. - 5/31/2009
I have purchased three pairs of glasses at Specs Around Town. The selection is the best in town and they stand behind their products. If I have any problem, or want the nose pads replaced, or just want some adjustment made, they do it free. I think that the prices are probably higher than other shops, but definitely worth it.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288704
by sheila s. - 3/13/2008
I discovered Specs when I moved to Bloomington 2 years ago. I was ready for a new pair of glasses and saw the store right across the street from my apartment. Julie is wonderful and her staff is exceptionally helpful. Katie worked with me that first time and I got a great pair of black & fuchsia glasses. I had always "played it safe" in the past but we found a great frame from Denmark that I really loved. Fast forward a year and I'm back again for a 2nd pair. This time I went with a brown/orange frame with magnetic sunglasses. Again, great service. This past year, I chose a pink/purple/green/yellow mosaic half-frame with a twist. Julie actually picked these for me and I get compliments every week on how trendy they look. Just got my eyes checked a few weeks ago and I'm armed with a new prescription. I think red this time. I'm addicted.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Testimonial Star Rating - 1288687
by Kelly M. - 3/9/2008
What a great store...any glasses you would ever be able to find and the staff to help you find them!! My husband came home looking very trendy (and at 6'7" with crazy red hair, that's saying something). Lenny, their store dog is just a gem.
Go to Testimonial on Yelp
Best selection from around the world.
Testimonial Star Rating - 1289857
by Pete P. - 10/30/2005
Want a pair of glasses that no one else will have? Want to have your glasses made to order to fit your personality? Go see Julie or Katie at Specs Around Town. They can always find a pair of glasses that will fit your face, and personality in their vast inventory. Some other optical places toot their own horn saying they have thousands of frames in stock. What they don't tell you is they only have a 100 different varieties. Specs also has a large selection of top line sunglasses, which can suit anyone's needs or wants. One thing that Specs Around Town will do that no one else in town will do, is they will come to you. Julie started the business as a totally mobile optical boutique, working out of her Beetle. Another locally owned business, that beats out the franchised/corporate names hands down.
Go to Testimonial on Judy's Book
Best Selection of Unique Eyeglasses
Testimonial Star Rating - 1289858
by C.E. L. - 8/19/2005
Specs around town has been around town since 1998. They have a great location in downtown Bloomington with lots of easy street parking. They always have the most unique and one of a kind glasses. I have purchased a few pairs here and am always complimented about my glasses. In fact while in London I was asked about my glasses and I referred them to Specs around Town. They have great service and reasonable turnaround time. The glasses can get expensive but they are worth it. Staff is very nice and helpful.
Go to Testimonial on Judy's Book
Star Rating - 5 by 61 raters [Show +]
Star Rating - 4 by 1 rater [Show +]